Raspberry Pi
Why I am so obsessed with Linux?Linux is Fucking Awesome
January 5th, 2023

How I got Linux?

When I was a child, I had an interest in technology. I had a mini Windows laptop that I used frequently. One day, I accidentally caused my Windows desktop to stop functioning. While looking for solutions online, I stumbled upon a blog post about Linux Mint and became curious about the operating system. I did some more research and eventually decided to try installing Ubuntu 16.04 LTS on my computer. It was my first intrection with Linux. But I used Ubuntu for few days and came up with installing Windows.

termux

In June 2019, I discovered Termux, an Android app that allows users to run a terminal and execute Linux commands. I learned how to install Ubuntu Desktop on the terminal and use it to access a full Linux desktop on my phone through VNC. This experience sparked my interest in Linux and I decided to switch from using a Windows desktop to using a Linux desktop.


Why Linux is my only choice?

If you're a programmer or a normal user looking for a customizable, stable, secure, open-source, and cost-effective operating system, Linux desktops like Arch Linux and Fedora can be an excellent choice. And if you're really ambitious, you can even custom build your own operating system.

Freedom and Open Source

Linux is an open-source operating system, meaning that its source code is available to everyone. This enables users to modify and distribute the operating system in any way they choose. Linux also provides users with the freedom to run, copy, distribute, study, change and improve the software. The open-source nature of Linux fosters collaboration, innovation, and transparency, which are some of the core values of the Linux community.

Customization

Linux provides an extensive range of customization options to users. Users can customize the desktop environment, system settings, package managers, and almost every aspect of the operating system to suit their specific needs. This level of customization helps users to create a personalized computing environment that suits their workflow.

Security

Linux is known for its excellent security features. Due to its open-source nature, Linux benefits from an extensive community of developers who work tirelessly to identify and fix security vulnerabilities. Linux users have a higher level of control over the security of their system, with the ability to configure security settings such as firewalls and encryption.

Software Availability

Linux provides users with access to a vast range of software applications, with a wide selection of both free and commercial software. Linux also provides package managers, which makes it very easy to install and manage software packages from a central repository.

Stability

Linux operating systems are more stable than other operating systems, thanks to the robust testing and development process that it goes through before a release. This makes it an ideal choice for mission-critical applications and systems that require high uptime and reliability.

Performance

Linux is a lightweight operating system that is well optimized to run on a wide range of hardware configurations. Linux can run on older hardware, which means that users can use their existing hardware for many more years than they could with other operating systems.

Cost

Linux is free to use and distribute, which makes it an ideal choice for budget-conscious users who don't want to spend money on licensing fees for proprietary software.